Breaking News

Olamide Leads Headies 2015 Nominees

Leading the pack of musicians who are being rewarded for outstanding works is Olamide Adedeji, better known as Olamide or Baddo, whose works are nominated in seven categories including the nomination for his producer, Young John.

His album ‘Street OT’ and the single ‘Bobo’ put the artiste in contention in many critical categories like ‘Album of the Year’, ‘Best Street Hop Artiste’, ‘Song of the Year’, ‘Best Pop Single’, and ‘Best Rap Album’. Olamide’s producer, Young John also makes a good showing for ‘Producer of the Year’ for his work on ‘Bobo’.
Following closely on his heels are Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun, better known as Wizkid, and Praise Ugbede Adejo, better known as Praiz, who rake in six nominations each.
Wizkid’s ‘Ojuelegba is listed among ‘Best Recording of the Year’. His album, ‘A.Y.O’ is ranked among the ‘Best R’n’B/Pop Album’, a category in which Praiz is giving him a good run. Wizkid also makes a good showing in the Best Recording of the Year segment.
The Headies 2015 reveal Yemi Alade as the reigning queen of Nigerian music. She is the most listed female musician on the nominees list. Her album ‘King of Queens’ makes it to the Best R’n’B/Pop Album category. Her delivery in ‘Duro Timi’ shoots her to the group of ‘Best Vocal Performance (Female).
She appears again in the Hip Hop World Revelation category, which features the best new artiste in the year under review. Alade is ranked along with Praiz for the album, ‘Rich n Famous and Skales for the album, ‘Man of the Year’.
Other artistes who make a strong showing include Cobhams Asuquo whose work, ‘Do the Right Thing’ is listed among the Best Recording of the Year and Reminisce’s ‘Baba Hafusa’ which takes its place in the Best Rap Album category.
Fresh faces in The Headies 2015 include Adekunle Gold, Korede Bello and Small Doctor who have made an impressive impact as first timers. Other nominees include PSquare, Korede Bello, Bez, Timi Dakolo, Asa, Reminisce, Mr. 2Kay, Seyi Shay, and Cynthia Morgan among many others. This year’s nomination is based on the period in review, between July 2014 and June 2015.