Breaking News

Senate Confirms Amaechi, As PDP Senators Walkout On Session

The Senate on Thursday confirmed the nomination of a former governor of Rivers State, Chibuike Amaechi, as minister, amidst protest by senators of the Peoples Democratic Party.

It also confirmed the nomination of 17 others. They are Adebayo Shittu, Kadjiat Abba Ibrahim, Heineken Lokpobiri, Claidius Omoyele Daramola, Baba Shehuri Mustapha,
James Ocholi, Isaac Folorunsho Adewole, Bawa Bwari, Geoffrey Onyeama and Zainab Ahmed.
Others are Masur Mohammed Danladi, Usani Uguru, Okechukwu Elemanah, Anthony Anwuka, Mohammed Musa Bello, Adamu Adamu and Aisha Abubakar.
The confirmation was done by senators of the All Progressives Congress alone as their PDP counterparts staged a walkout in protest.
The senate had earlier dissolved into a closed-door session to discuss the issue of confirmation of the ministers. The session which became rather rowdy, especially when the senate president read out Hon Chibuike as one of the Nominees to be confirmed. It was a battle of "words and sections of the Senate Act" Our reporters gathered, it became so tensed the PDP senators left the floor of the senate, .

Stay tuned for more...