Breaking News

Defection of Jim Nwobodo: See Full Declaration Speech

The wave of defection continued in Enugu State on Friday as three top leaders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The defectors included Senator Jim Nwobodo, who was the first executive Governor of old Anambra State and Senator Fidelis Okoro, who was a senator between 1999 and 2007.

They declared for APC at a State APC stakeholders meeting convened by the Minister of Foreign
Affairs, Mr. Jeffrey Onyeama on Thursday.

Making his declaration speech, Nwobodo urged members of the APC in Enugu State not to be deterred by the electoral losses they have suffered in the State in the past.

“You must always lose. What matters is the ability to rise again. I must condemn our former party, PDP. I know we had problems. I told our former chairman, how come did we allow five Governors to leave the party?

“I am not looking for a job. I am talking because I want peace. I want our people to be part of the Federal Government at the centre. I had a problem being an opposition Governor. I am not coming into APC because I want anything. I want our people to reintegrate and have our own share of the Federal Government resources”, Nwobodo said.

Nwobodo recalled that while he was in PDP, his wife had always been an active member of the APC, just as he pointed out that the slogan “change” did not start now but started in 1983 when he was an opposition Governor.

Earlier, a founding member of APC in Enugu State and former Secretary to State Government, Onyemuche Nnamani reminded the party of the need to keep tab of its members, stressing that those who worked for the party’s success must be recognized.

“We recognize our old members and open door for new ones. Peace essentially is guarded by justice. Without justice, we have peace of the graveyard. Those who don’t cherish peace are those who have not tasted the other side. Please, let us do justice. Let us carry everybody along”, Nnamani said.

Other top APC stalwarts at the meeting include the State Secretary, Major General Chris
Eze (rtd), member representing Enugu State in the Board of Trustees (BOT), Brigadier General Joseph Okoloagu (rtd.), Deputy Chairman, Adolphus Ude, Publicity Secretary, Kate Ofor, Okey Ezea, Peter Okonkwo and the National Vice Chairman South-East, Emma Eneukwu.