Breaking News

11 ex-Jonathan’s ministers set to join APC

As many as 11 former Ministers, who served under President Goodluck Jonathan’s administration, may soon defect to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

According to the Nation, their planned defection is all part of the ongoing realigment in the political circle.

Some of them are believed to be looking for soft landing, as President Muhammadu Buhari’s anti-corruption war continues in full force.

The defection of Umar Idris, a former Minister of Transport, from PDP to APC last weekend, was seen as a “pilot test” for the ex-Ministers, who are mostly from the North.

He allegedly told Jonathan that “it is only politically expedient for him to leave PDP in Gombe State”.

There are rumours he might run for Governor in 2019.

“Some of them have opened talks discreetly with some key figures in the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari.

They are bidding time on when to cross over. But ex-Minister Umar Idris braved the odds to defect last weekend,” a top source, who spoke in confidence, told the Nation.

“I think they do not want to lose out in the scheme of things. It is becoming obvious that the crisis in PDP might lead to the emergence of another party”, he added.

Another source said: “Contrary to what you have been fed with, it is the APC that is reaching out to like minds in the former cabinet of ex-President Jonathan.

“Some of us have been under intense pressure to defect because of the crisis in PDP.”

Some of the ex-Ministers under investigation are Nurudeen Mohammed; Sen. Musiliu Obanikoro; Bashir Yuguda; former Minister of Power, Mohammed Wakil; Bala Mohammed; Diezani Alison-Madueke; Oloye Jumoke Akinjide; Amb. Aminu Wali; Prof. Viola Onwuliri; ex-Minister Nenadi Usman; ex-Minister Senator Joel Ikenya and Femi Fani-Kayode.